My ‘Onion Summer’

This year I have felt like an onion.  God has been peeling back layers and exposing things in my life that weren’t right.  All summer I kept thinking ‘this has to be the last thing; there can’t be more layers to peel back.’ 

But God kept peeling away and just like when peeling and cutting an onion can bring tears to your eyes; there have been a lot of tears for me this summer.  But through all the peeling and all the tears, things that I have kept hidden and didn’t want to confess, have been brought to the light and they no longer keep me bound through secrecy. 

Thank you Lord, for setting me free!!

 

 

One thought on “My ‘Onion Summer’

  1. Yes! Praise God that He sets the prisoners (us) free!!!
    I’ve observed and experienced that at the time when we’re in Satan’s ‘trap’ or ‘snare’ of sin that we think we’re just fine… we don’t want anyones help, because we don’t want to be exposed for who we really are. We don’t want to take off our mask because “what would people think if they saw the real me?.” To put it bluntly, we are concerned with what PEOPLE think of us, rather than what GOD thinks of us.

    The first step to freedom is confession; bringing to light those things that you swore you’d never tell anybody because thay were too shameful (bad dreams, evil thoughts, wrong deeds, etc). Our walk with Christ is hindered when we’re walking in secrecy. I’m free today because I’ve brought those things in my life to the Light. I don’t know who will read this comment, but please, if there is something that you’re hiding from your parents, tell them… it will not only clear your consience before God, but you will be FREE, and you will not take that baggage into your marriage!

    ~1 John 1:5-7~ “This is the message we have heard from Him and declare to you: God is light; in Him is no darkness at all. If we claim to have fellowship with Him yet walk in darkness, we lie and do not live by the Truth. But if we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, His Son, purifies us from every sin”. — Praise the Lord!

Tell me what you think!

