It Doesn’t Apply to Married Women Only!

“The wise woman builds her house, but with her hands the foolish one tears hers down.” 

Proverbs 14:1

As I was reading through this the other day with mom and a friend, something jumped out at me that I had never realized before. 

When I used to read this, I always assumed that the women they talk about were married women – wives and mothers.  But that’s not the case….it’s written to all women; no matter the marital status!

My mom also pointed out that you could also put “words” in there, after “hands”.  So many people tear down their homes with the words they use.

So that got me to thinking a few things…

How can we single women build up our families?

Are there ways we are tearing our family down?

Are we building up our family, even when they aren’t around, or are we always tearing them down?

The note on the wise woman in this verse in my NIV Bible says – “She is a source of strength and an example of diligence for her family”

Do I fit this description?  Am I a source of strength or an example of diligence to those around me?

This is something we need to work on while we’re single…it won’t magically appear in our lives once we’re married! 

I’m looking forward to what any of you may have to say on this subject, so please leave comments! 

2 thoughts on “It Doesn’t Apply to Married Women Only!

Tell me what you think!

