Not My Understanding, But His

“Trust in the Lord with all of your heart; and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.”  Proverbs 3:5-6
 

 This verse is what I call my ‘life verse’.  God gave it to me a few years ago and it has gotten me through quite a bit.  But it wasn’t until just a few days ago that I saw it in another light.  You see, I always read the “Trust in the Lord” part and never really focused on the “lean not on your own understanding” part…until the other day, as I was praying a prayer I had found for my husband, and this happened to be one of the verses.

Of course it caused me to take a good look at myself…Have I been leaning on my own understanding?  When God does something I don’t understand how do I react?  Am I okay with it and keep trusting Him, or do I get frustrated that things aren’t going the way I want them to?

Another verse that really became real to me lately was “for we walk by faith, not by sight.”  (2nd Corinthians 5:7).  I realized I’ve been walking by sight – only what I could see God doing – and not fully walking by faith – trusting that He is doing what’s best for me, no matter what I see. 

See how those 2 verses can go hand-in-hand?  If I walk by sight, I’m leaning on my own understanding – only what I can see and comprehend.  But if I walk by faith, I’m leaning on God’s understanding – trusting Him to get me through and be my guide. 

I found it interesting that this all became clearer to me while praying for my husband, since this is the area in my life that I really need to be trusting God in.  That I would wait for HIS timing to bring the right guy along…HIS timing for my courtship…and for HIS pen to write my love story!

So as I set out to walk more by faith and to lean on God’s understanding, not mine; I’m sure trials and discouragements will come, but with God as my guide, I’ll know I’m walking the right way, and that my life story is being written by the best author!! 

 

 

 

Tell me what you think!

