2nd Corinthians 12:7-10

“To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”  Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

2nd Corinthians 12:7-10

 

Can you honestly say you delight in weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, or difficulties? 

I know in my life, there have been times I’ve ‘delighted’ in a trial; knowing that because of it my relationship with God would be strengthened. But there are those other times, where I just cannot see what God is doing, and instead of delighting, I get very discouraged and upset…wishing he would just take it away from me. 

It doesn’t even have to be a ‘big’ trial either…in fact it’s usually the ‘little’, seemingly unimportant, trials that can discourage me the most…for example (this happened the other day)…I woke up with my back so tight I couldn’t bend over to pick anything up – this happened to be on a day when there was a lot of laundry to be done…which means bending over and picking up baskets of clothes.  I was quite frustrated as I couldn’t work as easily or as quickly as I wanted to.

I have found, though, that one of the greatest ways to keep from getting discouraged is singing!  I love to sing while I work (though my family would probably prefer that I do it when they aren’t around), and it is such a great way to keep God as your main focus throughout the day…even when it seems like the problems just keep coming.  After all, He is our strength…His power is made perfect in our weakness…whatever those weaknesses may be. 

So I challenge you (and it is a challenge, let me tell you!!), delight in your trials…let God be your strength…after all, He can see the big picture…we can’t.

Tell me what you think!

