4 years ago…

4 years ago today, I was sitting in a church…watching my friend, Erin, get married.  She was 23 and I can remember ‘praying’, “God, please don’t make me wait till I’m 23 to get married!  That’s another 5 years!  I don’t want to wait that long!”   Apparently God has a different time schedule than I do, since that 5 years has quickly become 356 days!  Where did that time go?!

As hard as it’s been at times to wait, I am so glad that God did not allow me to get married back then…I was so not ready for it!  Over the past 3 years, He has worked so much in my life…changing me into who He wants me to be.  There are times where I read back over letters I have written to my future husband, and think “wow…did I ever have a lot to learn!!”

With each passing day, God is teaching me more and more…drawing me closer to Him…desiring that the only relationship I have right now is with Him; trusting Him with the pen of my life story.

And, in closing, I’d like to wish Jesse & Erin a Happy 4th Wedding Anniversary!!!

(you can read Erin’s courtship story here: https://iluvgod.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/%e2%80%9cnot-just-watering-camels%e2%80%9d-by-erin-walter-brumbaugh/)

2 thoughts on “4 years ago…

  1. As the father of a 23 year old daughter who was married 6 months ago, I’m glad you’re content with being single for now – God already has your husband picked out and, as I told my 20 year old daughter, He’s preparing both of you for marriage right now. The fact that you are content and don’t feel like you “need” a husband (to be complete, fulfilled, happy etc) tells me God has prepared you for marriage – He wants us to rely completely on Him for fulfillment because no man (or woman), not even the best spouse, is capable of giving us spiritual fulfillment or even emotional fulfillment.

Tell me what you think!

