This Weekend…..

Here I am, 22 years old, and have never led a single person to the Lord.  What have I been doing?  Why have I been so afraid to be open and share?  To speak?  Why am I so silent?  What am I afraid of?  What have I been wasting my time doing?

These are all thoughts that have been running  through my mind lately.  You see, there is a specific witnessing opportunity coming up this weekend and at first, I didn’t want to do it.  Why?  Because it means *gasp!* talking to people.  For those of you who don’t really know me, I am a shy person…I prefer to let others do the talking…I’d rather write and let people (ones I don’t know really well, that is) read what I’ve written, than actually talk to them.

One of the reasons I didn’t want to do this witnessing opportunity, was because of a lie I was believing…”I’m not qualified”.  But while I was at WIT this year, one of the girls at my table shared a quote that has stuck with me…”God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called.”

So, as I prayed and considered this opportunity, I felt that it is something God wants me to do.  I was praying about it one night and after telling God of my fears and asking for His direction, He reminded me of Moses and gave me this verse in Exodus 4:11-12:

“The Lord said to him, “Who gave man his mouth?  Who makes him deaf or mute?  Who gives him sight or makes him blind?  Is it not I the Lord?  Now go; I will teach you what to say.”

*jaw drops*  You talk about the perfect verse!  I was like “okay God…I think you’ve made it pretty clear what you want me to do!”

He also reminded me of a verse He gave me earlier this year in Romans 10:14-15:

“How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in?  And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard?  And how can they hear without someone preaching to them?  And how can they preach unless they are sent?  As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!” 

Now, I’m still pretty nervous about the possibility of having to…no, GETTING to…witness to people…total strangers.  But I just need to remember,  it won’t be me doing the talking…God will be speaking through me…I’m just a tool He’s using.

2 thoughts on “This Weekend…..

  1. I’ll be praying for you Sara! I know that God will work mightily through you as you surrender to Him. You were such a bessing to me at the conference because you were willing to be real and be open to us at the table and I know that God will use those qualities to help you witness this weekend.

    May God bless you with courage, boldness of spirit, the words to speak to each person and an overwhelming peace in His power.

    In Him,
    Devin

    P.S. Claim His promises, they will never fail. “When I am really struggling with my fear I always turn to Phillipians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

Tell me what you think!

