Is it “no” or “go”?

I am not the kind of person that enjoys making decisions…especially big ones.  If I have clear direction from God, however, it’s not a problem…it’s those times where I can’t quite hear what He’s saying that are difficult.

Like with Journey to the Heart…I have been praying for the last 2-3 months about this and asking God to put everything into place if I was meant to go.  For awhile the answer was the same…. “wait on me”…so, I waited….and waited…and waited.  I started getting very anxious with the time rapidly passing by and still not seeing provision.

Then I started to hear something different…I started hearing a very faint, ‘no’…and it was not what I was hoping for.  Very discouraged and upset, I continued praying…praying that ultimately God’s will would be done, and if the answer really was to be ‘no’, that I would accept it, and move on…thanking Him for His answer.

And so it’s been for the past 2 weeks or so…me praying…more like pleading….for a CLEAR answer…even if it would be ‘no’…just so I had an answer.  And it seemed like Wednesday/Thursday I got my answer…I would not be going on this Journey; and I was fine with that…I actually had a peace about it…until today.

It seems things are starting to fall into place a little bit for me to be able to go, and now I don’t know WHAT the answer is.  I had such a peace about staying, that now, thinking about going, I’m not sure if it’s what God really wants…the answer still isn’t clear….

It’s just so hard to tell if He’s saying ‘no’….or if He’s saying ‘go’.

4 thoughts on “Is it “no” or “go”?

  1. I share with my children the example of myself. I’m not generally a very organized person. But if I’m having a good day & have a list made out, the day is half gone & I am succeeding with getting things on that list done in any given day, I feel good about that! But then, what is my response when my husband comes home very excited & says, “Hey, let’s go ____ today!” ? If my thoughts are, “oh, no, GREAT, I only want to finish my list & accomplish what I have planned!” (hear, “me, me, me”) & I respond according to my thoughts & feelings, I am not being flexible, & I will be, in effect, throwing water on his parade & squelching his enthusiasm….NOT the loving thing to do. It is good to be organized, yet it is good to be flexible, to be able to go where God’s Spirit leads at each moment. It is good that you have been able to accept God’s “no” & be at peace with that. Yet it is also very like God to surprise us with a “yes” when we least expect it! I can’t say whether His answer to you is “yes” or “no,” but what I can say is that it is very important that you hear His voice. We have a book, recommended by Jenny, if you’d like to borrow it, on this subject. Also, a scriptural principle we go by is that we make plans, trusting God to lead. If what seems to be a Godly door appears to be opening, & yet He wants to close that door at any moment during the process, then we trust Him to close it soundly; if He doesn’t, we we are boldly stepping through on faith. Also, keep in mind that when we are faced with entering some very Growth-Stimulating, Relationship-Enhancing doors, we have an Enemy who will do everything he can to hinder us from going. A key is to seek God’s voice, to hear Him for ourselves. Heavenly Father, please help me to hear Your voice, in my “small,” everyday tasks & decisions. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit, full to overflowing!!!

  2. I have found in my life that sometimes God says “No,” in order to get submission or surrender. And when we reach that point, He then says “Yes.” I don’t know if that’s true in your case or not, but I do have confidence that if you continue seeking God, He will make His will clear to you. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

