A Look Back at 2012…

As 2012 is coming to it’s end, I just wanted to do a review of sorts, as to what all has gone on in my life this year, and also the many ways God worked in me 🙂   

As I read through journal entries and looked through (WAY too many!) photos that I took this year, I’m amazed at how much really happened!  I think, “that was this year?!  It seems like so long ago!”  Who knew you could fit so many things into 365 days 😉

Okay, so enough with the ‘intro’, lets get to the “feature presentation” 🙂

To start off the new year, we had a few friends over to celebrate….poor Ryan was the only guy there!

New year

Just a few days into the new year, we said goodbye to our cousin, Graham, as he went into the army…

Graham

Then…the next dayI failed my drivers test. 

Test

But we still ate what was to be my ‘celebration’ dessert….vanilla ice cream with green olives and chocolate syrup 🙂

Ice Cream

Towards the end of January, I thought God was calling me to attend a Culinary Arts program, but after much prayer, God showed me that wasn’t where he wanted me.

The end of February, we took in a pregnant momma cat to foster and on March 2nd she gave birth to 5 little fur balls – the “minions” as I called them 🙂  We had them for about 8 weeks I think, and it was fun watching them grow and learn…and basically become little terrors 😉

Minions Minions2 Minions3

At the end of 2011, I had applied for a counselor position at a Christian camp near here, and, for several months, anxiously waited for an answer.  March 9th I received it.  I knew God had greater plans in mind for me when I read the letter informing me I had not gotten a position.  Was I upset?  Not really…I was more excited to see what God had for me instead…and let me tell you, He had AMAZING things planned 🙂

Now jump ahead, if you will, to March 24th…is that wedding bells I hear?!  It is!  I attended the wedding of a good friend of mine, Megan 🙂  It was a beautiful wedding, and one of MANY that took place this year 🙂 

Megan

In June, we celebrated my grandparents 50th wedding anniversary 🙂

G&G G&G2

The end of June, we began fostering a dog, Sophie Marie (aka. Soapy Jeans)  🙂 We had her until August 24th

Sophie

Jump ahead once more, and we are now at July 5th…the first day of the WIT singles conference!  I won’t go into much detail, since I already blogged about it, but God worked on me so much that weekend, that I would definetly have to say that was a turning point for me in several areas of my life, and I am so grateful He allowed me to go!!

WIT

Then there was (what some would call a ‘little’ ) blessing, but to me it was a HUGE blessing!  As many of you knew, I had been having to push mow our (very large) yard, and it was not an easy task.  I was down working in the garden one day, feeling somewhat discouraged that I wasn’t able to keep up on both garden and yard work, when our friends showed up with zero-turns and weed-eaters, and in about 30 mintues, had the yard done! 

August 7th rolled around, and I celebrated my 22nd year of life…complete with friends and 2 homemade cakes!! The one in the picture, and another decorated to look like a large pink M&M 🙂

Birthday cake

Birthday

Officially 22 🙂

A couple of weeks later, we lost a ‘family member’…our cat Milo passed away.

Milo

Zoom ahead with me to October 15th!!  After 4 years of praying, we were able to get a mini-van!! 

DSC_0073

Moving onto November!  I packed my bags, and on the 3rd, my friend Tiana and I left for Journey to the Heart!  It was only by God’s provision that I was able to go, and once again, I am SO grateful He sent me!  It was definetly another turning point in my life 🙂

Group

My team!!

A week or two after I got home, we had another ‘family member’ pass away.  Miss Emma Leigh…

Emma

November 19th I started helping out at my grandparents, since my grandpa was having eye problems, and needed eye drops every hour, around the clock.  I took the night shift.  I helped out over there for about 4 weeks…coming home on the weekends and going back Sunday nights 🙂  After many eye drops, visits to the doctor and lots of prayer, my grandpa’s eye is healing and he no longer needs the drops at night 🙂

December 2nd was a special day for me and also for my friend, Tiana.  We were anointed at church, and I remember thinking while dad put the oil on my head and prayed, “This is it. I’m dying to myself.  Whatever God wants, I’ll do.  Wherever He wants me, I’ll go. No turning back.”  I must say, God has sure sent things my way to test me! 

And that, dear readers, is pretty much a review of 2012 from my point of view 🙂  I must say it was one very busy, full year…but amid the craziness and hardships, this was a year that I heard from God SO many times!!  This year was a blessing…perfectly planned by God!

Winter 2012resized

2 thoughts on “A Look Back at 2012…

Tell me what you think!

