Just A Friend…or is He?

You’ve all been waiting very patiently for our Courtship Story, and here it is! Well, part 1 anyway… it’s too long to put into 1 blog post, so you’ll have to keep coming back if you want to read it all 😉 Kyle and I both wrote our sides of the story, so you will be able to see just what each of us went through…this post is part 1 of mine 🙂

Just A Friend….or is He?

April 17th, 2004. I would have been 13 years old.  I don’t remember this day, but Kyle does, and in the following blog post is his recollection of when he first met me 🙂

But for me, I have to jump ahead to April 20th, 2004…this I partially remember!  My dad used to keep honey bees, and when Mr. Viers found out, he wanted to get started into keeping bees as well, so on that Spring day, Mr. Viers, Kyle, and his brother Seth, all came up to scrape out bee boxes and get them ready.

I remember watching them scrape the boxes out, and afterwards we stood outside of the barn and talked for awhile…I was totally clueless at this point about the way Kyle felt about me…and in fact I would stay that way for close to 3 years.

I guess the first clear memory I have of Kyle, would be when we went to their house for dinner the first time, April 30th, 2004 🙂  Mr. Viers sent Kyle and the boys outside to get the grill started, and Kyle’s sister, Sarah, and I followed along.  As I watched Kyle put the lighter fluid on the grill and get it going (he was goofing around just a bit), I thought “this guys gonna get burned, I just know he is..”  Yeah…not the sweetest first memory, but it’s true!  I feel bad about this part, but when I first met him, I could not remember his name!  I always referred to him as ‘the other brother’.

Over the next couple of years, our families did a lot together 🙂  I grew up with a brother, mostly guy friends, and the neighbor kids were always boys…so I was comfortable talking with guys, and had no problem as seeing them as ‘just friends’.  So in 2006, when Kyle started talking to me more, and would even call to talk to me on the phone, I didn’t even think anything about it.

December 5th, 2007…Mom and Dad went out to dinner with Mr. & Mrs. Viers, and talked about Kyle and I, and decided we needed to not talk so much, or spend so much time together.  It came as a surprise to me since I still sort of thought of him as only a friend…and thus began the emotional roller coaster ride that I thought would never stop!….February 12th, 2008, I realized I truly missed talking to him.

As you can imagine, the next four and a half years were incredibly difficult, and a lot of changes took place. I didn’t know what would come of the situation…I didn’t know how Kyle felt about me…I was trying not to get too attached…trying to let God have control of it all.

In 2010, I attended my first WIT conference, and realized that I had formed a soul-tie with Kyle…I talked to Mrs. Viers a little bit when I got back, but not much changed between Kyle and I.  In 2011, I attended the WIT conference again, and this time Kyle also attended.  August 16th, just 2 days after getting back from the conference, Kyle and his family came up and he ‘confessed’ to having a soul-tie with me as well.  At this time, one of our parents didn’t have a peace about letting us enter a courtship, so we didn’t pursue it.  But it was nice to know where Kyle’s heart was at.

TO BE CONTINUED 🙂

Tell me what you think!

